Bollywood effect

When I was in Prague, I was checking the tv, and I found a German television channel that was showing Kuch Kuch Hota Hai in German.  I was amazed at the power of Bollywood.  It has reached corners of the world you cannot even imagine!  In Turkey, I met people on the street who could sing “Chhaiya Chhaiya…”!!  While doing my undegrad, I knew this girl who could recite lines from a Shah Rukh Khan movie even though she could not speak Hindi! And even in my class now, I have a classmate from Sudan who loves Bollywood, sarees and songs.

Bollywood has given a global face to India, it works almost like a cultural atmosphere. People who aren’t Indian love the positive feel good movies, which are peppered with songs. They love the sarees, mehendi, and the wedding customs.

It makes me feel proud to Indian!

 

Leave a Reply

