My favorites of 2011

MY FAVORITE THINGS FROM 2011

Happy New Year! As 2011 draws to a close and 2012 beckons, I was thinking about stuff that changed my life, inspired and entertained me! I picked my favorites from the ones I have seen, heard or read in 2011 in my beloved fields-music, movies, books and travel destinations. Do you agree?

Favorite singer:

Adele– Her voice is such a revelation, she has such raw talent. I am in love with all her tracks including Rolling in the Deep, Someone Like You, and Set Fire to The Rain.

File:21Adele.jpg

Favorite Book:

Little Bee by Chris Cleave. I have been catching up with books during the second half of this year and the one book that really got my attention was Little Bee. I wrote a review about the book earlier this year, and it still is one of the best books I have read in a long long time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Favorite Hindi Movie:

Dhobi Ghat– Not the most conventional Bollywood, it is not for drama lovers. It is an art movie, that is based in my favorite city in the planet! Dhobi Ghat has some really stellar performances, the movie really touches your heart!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Favorite English Movie:

The Adventures of Tintin– Steven Spielberg and Peter Jackson converted my favorite childhood book into a fascinating adventure movie. A must watch for the child in you!

File:The Adventures of Tintin - Secret of the Unicorn.jpg

Favorite Holiday Destination:

Istanbul, Turkey– I was fortunate to make quite a few trips this year, and although Puerto Rico was a close second, Istanbul is nothing short of magic. There are so many wonderful places to see: Blue Mosque, Beyzit Mosque, Suleiman Mosque, Aya Sofya, and Basilica Cistern.

Blue Mosque at night

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have a great year ahead! 🙂

One comment on “My favorites of 2011

Leave a Reply

