Realizations from a 1000 days of being a Mrs!

I am a sucker for the idea of milestones-anniversaries, monthsary—I love celebrating the moments that made my life what it is! Today is one of those milestones- 1000 days of being a Mrs! It sounds a lot longer than it is, I can’t even believe it- we are opposites- he is more outdoors but me not so much, I talk and he usually listens! Anyone who tells you marriage is a piece of cake is lying- it takes a lot of work, but is it worth it? TOTALLY!

I figured I should list some of the things I found out about marriage over the last 1000 days!!

  • There is no such thing as a honeymoon phase– Before I got married, I heard so much about how exciting the honeymoon phase is! All the hype made my expectations sky high but the one thing I figured out was the first year is definitely NOT a piece of cake! My husband and I didn’t live together so it took us a while to get used to living together. It takes a lot of change and adjustment, but eventually we got to a steady state. The steady state to me feels more like a honeymoon phase of mind!
  • It isn’t all about romance!– Years of reading Mills and Boon sets up romance expectations sky high! But 1000 days of marriage has made me realize that the story book romance don’t exist in the real world and what really matters to me is the daily sweet nothings like a morning text or flowers every once in a while! In our daily routines,we both try to carve times for romance-date nights and anniversaries to make the usual week a little more special!
  • Enjoy hobbies you never thought you would like!– I have never been an outdoor person, while my hubby loves hiking, tennis and anything outdoors. Almost reluctantly, I tried a few of the hobbies and to my surprise, I didn’t hate it. Hiking and long walks around the city are now hobbies we both enjoy during our time together! And of course, keep your own hobbies- a lot of people I know get lost in the marriage and lose their friends and hobbies- at some point you will come up for air, and miss your old life! So keep chunks of it so you are excited to spend time together too!
  • Getaway for a perfect connection!– Sitting together but spending time on laptop and TV doesn’t count as spending time together. One thing that really helps us connect is to travel. Whether we explore an exotic city together or spend time walking around the country side, it gives us the perfect chance to get away from all the devices and communicate.
  • No fight that last too longer than a night– Like all married couples, we have had our share of tiffs and fights but the one thing I have learnt is no fight is too big. The rules are simple- you cannot hold a grudge overnight. I would love to claim I am the one who makes up all the time, but I think the truth is he is much better at making up! But then again, it might be because guys are almost always wrong! 😉 And while it sounds hard, don’t keep score- honestly sometimes I still do, but it takes a lot out of me to make sure I don’t do it consciously!
  • Partner my struggles– Nothing brings a couple closer than a ride in the rocky seas- I have had my share of struggles from moving to a foreign country, having no family or friends, not having a job and starting my career over by studying again. These experiences were difficult no doubt, but the one thing I am grateful for is it has helped me figure out whom I can lean on- my husband, the eternal optimist and one of the most objective people I know. I feel that even though it was a difficult time, it was the perfect opportunity for us to trust each other and lean towards each other for support.

Here is to the next 1000!! Share your tips and thoughts too!

3 comments on “Realizations from a 1000 days of being a Mrs!

  1. i know am responding rather late! considering that i am still in the so called honeymoon phase, i can agree with you that there is no such thing. esp in an arranged mrrg scenario where you are actually knowing the person and getting to know likes and dislikes..abt what u like and about what u dont like (d mind tends to veer towards d dislikes more often). But there are those small teeny weeny things which make u realise that its not so bad after all..and another self realisation that happens? “no one is perfect, and neither are you”…i think marriage is a mirror of self realisation in the initial phases, because there is that one person who has the right, the correct emotion and the authority to tell you whats right and whats not..unlike before mrrg, when you always tend to only harp on the initial part of what i wrote i.e. “no one is perfect” marriage makes u realise how imperfect u r …and how someone loves u, in spite of it!

Leave a Reply

