Why did you do this Apple?

I was your most loyal customer. I have always defended you whenever there was a discussion about Apple iPhone v/s Samsung Galaxy  I touted your strengths to everyone.

So when you launched iOS 6 and the iPhone 5, I was excited, I expected the most sophisticated and user-friendly refinements. After all, Paul Krugman touted the phone to increase GDP by 0.5%- that is genuine excitement! But what did you do?

  • Google Maps– I am not the most geographically aware person, so when I am lost Google Maps is my friend. When I clicked the Maps symbol, there was I didn’t recognize. I realized you have taken the map I know, and put one I couldn’t figure out. I was in shock- how could you, after all we became so used to the maps, almost addicted to it. I read more about your maps and found very hilarious posts about how tragically inaccurate it is. Link to one of the funniest posts about your map debacle: http://nickkwock.wordpress.com/2012/09/22/wrong-turn-in-ios6/. You don’t have data on what subway to take, and I don’t drive. More tragically, since there is no Google Maps app, I am literally lost since I don’t trust your maps anymore.
  • YouTube– Next up, I heard about the Gangnam style and searched for YouTube icon I had moved to the first page of my phone for easy access, but shock and disbelief as I cannot find it- You uninstalled it and I had to re-install. You would think it is not a big deal to re-install, but as an iPhone user I am used to having things on my phone sorted so I can find it easily. So when you change things around, it is very unsettling!
  • Facebook– I turn to Facebook to see my familiar friends pictures and posts, but I keep getting interrupted with notifications to sync my phone with Facebook. I am confused- are you trying to get access to phone number contacts, pictures that I don’t want to put on Facebook, put random contact’s birthdays in my calendar? You keep insisting it will improve the performance of Facebook, but I don’t believe you.

I know you have some good features- I actually like the ‘Do Not Disturb’ functionality, the Passbook app does look intriguing- to be able to digitally store tickets, coupons and gift cards- but can it make up for all the things I don’t like.

I was considering the iPhone 5, but with the changes in iOS 6 and the fact that you have changed the cable (so if I do get it, I have a 100 unused cables!), maybe it is not the right time for us!

2 comments on “Why did you do this Apple?

  1. Pingback: Why did you do this Apple? | Webs Poker

Leave a Reply

