Adieu 2014, and my one word wish for 2015!

755Happy New Year my dear blog world!

As 2014 rolls to the end, I got to an introspection mood on the year that went past and what my hopes are for 2015. I saw my friends put Facebook status declaring “awesome year”, “best year”, etc. As I thought about it, I realized I cannot describe the year in one word. It had some awesome high points and some low points- almost like every year is it’s own person- there are some starts, ends, and everything in between. And by focusing on one little experience, you miss out on the entire journey.

Let’s start with the awesome’s:

  • As I enter my third decade, I am blessed to be surrounded by friends and family! I got to see my beautiful family four times this year.
  • We bought our first house and spent most of the holiday season setting it up to be exactly everything I dream about.
  • Professionally, our family had a lot of success- my husband, brother, and me all got promoted. Woo Hoo!
  • We had some awesome 60th birthday celebrations for my dad, my mother-in-law
  • I got to travel to some awesome places- Cape Cod, Turks and Caicos, Hawaii! ❤

But then, the not so awesome’s:

  • I lost my grandfather- he was the light in our family- full of positivism, inspiring stories, and wit. He loved all his grand-kids so much, each one of us claim we are his favorite! 🙂 Whenever I am in India, he used to call me every day to hear my voice. He was the only one who pulled my cheeks every time we met, loved debating politics, and enjoyed listening for all our stories. I know birth and death are the circle of life, but there are so many things I won’t be able to share with him.
  • My random foot issue and pain rolled into 2014- I had third surgery on February and there is a long tail of recovery. We have plans of what we want to achieve each year, but I guess life is what happens when you are busy making plans. But I won’t wallow in self pity- I am strong, and I am positive- so 2015, better be good to me! 🙂
  • My husband and I had tons of plans for travel, and I couldn’t hit all of my plans because of the said leg issues. Oh well, this just means I have to cover twice as much in 2015.
  • I didn’t blog as much as I wanted to!

Now for the fun part- I read this post: New Year: My One Word for 2015 and Why I Can’t Leave 2014 Behind. and I figured this is a better alternative to a resolution. Find one word to focus on for 2015-“One word that sums up who you want to be and how you want to live”. No list that makes you feel deflated in the end of the year, no pressure!

My one word is Positive– I want to live every day with positive energy- with satisfaction, joy, and optimism. It is hard to be positive- it almost takes a real effort because it is almost easier to get to a negative place. There is so much pressure at work, in our personal lives, we put pressure on ourselves to live up to our plans. And somewhere along on the way, we lose our positive outlook, and we end up wallowing in negative thoughts.

So in 2015, I will remind myself every day- in the words of Frozen “Let It Go”! Just enjoy each day as it comes, and let all the negative thoughts slip away.

Join me in finding your one word for 2015!

Leave a Reply

